Grain of Sand

On closer inspection

Microscopically

I’m probably different

From the other grains of sand

That sit alongside me

But I’m not happy just to sit

I need to agitate

To stir

To work my way into nooks

Crannies

Uncomfortable places

To nestle in the flesh

Of an oyster of comfort

Contentment

The status quo

Unwillingness to change

And I’ll irritate

As a single grain of sand

Force layers of smoothness

That my abrasiveness

May result in action

Rounding off my edges

Until the comfort is ripped apart

And the result of my agitation

Is all that remains

Leave a Reply

