If I am to be judged…

If I am to be judged
When I die
Even though
I am justified
Will my lack
Of attendance
At church
Count against
Me?

I doubt it
Somehow
A rebel rabbi
That railed against
The religious
Looks deeper

But is it enough
To avoid judgement
By answering the need
Of those around
Me
Or should I seek out
The hungry?
The thirsty?
The stranger outside my door?
The sick prisoner?

Is it enough
To seek blessings
Without seeking those
Who are blessed
Already
The poor in spirit
Those who mourn
The timid and hungry (again)
The peacemakers
And the persecuted
The pure in heart
Those that thirst not just for water
But righteousness
Like a never ending stream

Leave a Reply

