If Jesus lived here

He would take the locks off the doors
for those who still needed to use them
I’d ask him to build us a bigger dining room table and a tree-house
and sit at his feet instead of doing the housework
I’d try not to keep Him all to myself
then ask him to listen to the songs I’ve written

I’d take him to work and hide him under my desk
and ask him to heal people
or pass me post-it notes
with words of knowledge
and prophecy for my patients
because I can’t hear his voice very well
No change there then
though I’d have to learn to read Greek
or Hebrew
or Aramaic

Every meal would have a bread and wine course
and we’d do fish on the barbeque for breakfast
with story telling for the children
and grown ups
It would be like heaven on earth
If Jesus lived here

Leave a Reply

