Churchman and Alcoholic

Two men went to church to pray

A Church Elder

And an alcoholic

The Church Elder stood apart

And prayed:

‘I thank you, God,

That I am not a sinner

Like everyone else.

I don’t cheat,

I don’t sin,

I don’t commit adultery.

I’m certainly

Not like that alcoholic!

I come to church

Twice a week

And to a house group

I read the Bible

Every morning

And I give you a tenth of my income.’

But the alcoholic stood

At a distance

Dared not even

Lift his eyes

To heaven as he prayed

Instead

He wept

 

‘O God, have mercy,

For I am a sinner.’

From Parabolic Parables

Leave a Reply

