The Shrewd Manager

One day a newspaper reported

That the manager

Of a rock star

Was wasting

His employer’s money

The rock star called him in

‘What’s this I hear about you?

Sort out the last few gigs

Because you are soon to be fired’

The manager thought to himself

‘Now what?

I’m going to be without a job

Without any qualifications

And I’m too proud to beg

Or go on benefits

I’ll have to make sure

That I’ll have plenty

Of friends who will help me out

When I am jobless’

So he invited each venue

Who owed money

And discuss their accounts

He discounted each invoice

And the rock star admired his shrewdness

His use of resources to benefit others

And make friends

Leave a Reply

